You are browsing the archive for National Club Championships.

Profile photo of Baylion

by Baylion

2012 SARU National Club Championships

August 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

The 2012 SARU National Club Championships that will be played in Rustenburg on 15 – 21 September with three of the GLRU Predator League teams in action. With the university clubs out of the competition from this year this is a battle of the open clubs.

While Roodepoort (GLRU), Rustenburg Imapala (Leopards) and Brakpan (Valke) all feature near the top of the Predator League their participation in the Club Championships is due to them being the top clubs in their respective provincial leagues, excluding the university clubs.

Amongst the favourites to reach the finals are Pretoria Police (Blue Bulls), who won the Carlton League by beating Varsity Cup winners Tukkies, and 2010 champions College Rovers (KZN), who have only lost three of their last 77 matches.

Top half of draw:

Roodepoort (Golden Lions) vs Naka Bulls (invited, Blue Bulls) – Match A
Rustenburg Impala (Leopards) vs Villagers Worcester (Boland) – Match H
Pretoria Police (Blue Bulls) vs Welkom Rovers (Griffons) – Match E
Durbanville-Bellville (WP) vs Blanco (SWD) – Match D

Bottom half of draw:

Bloemfontein Police (Free State) vs Old Selbornians (Border) – Match C
Sishen (Griquas) vs Brakpan (Valke) – Match F
White River (Mpumalanga) vs Despatch (EP) – Match G
College Rovers (KZN) vs Noordelikes (Limpopo) – Match B

Cup quarter-finals (Mon 17 Sept):

Top half:

Winner A vs Winner H – Match I
Winner E vs Winner D – Match K

Bottom half:

Winner C vs Winner F – Match L
Winner G vs Winner B – Match J

Cup semi-finals (Wed 19 Sept):

Top half:

Winner I vs Winner K – Match Q

Bottom half:

Winner L vs Winner J – Match R

Cup Final (Fri 21 Sept):

Winner Q vs Winner R