You are browsing the archive for community cup.

Profile photo of Baylion

by Baylion

Weekend Snippets

February 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

Super Rugby Week 1:

Super Rugby kicked off a week early in Oz with two derbies, Rebels vs Force and Brumbies vs Reds. Both matches were error-strewn as the teams tried to get rid of the off-season rust – playing pre-season practice matches just isn’t the same as the real deal. The Force will need to sort out their lineouts and the Reds are just not the same without Will Genia while the Rebels may just surprise a number of teams this year and the Brumbies look like possible play-off contenders, on merit and not just because they top the Aussie conference.

Super Rugby Warm-Ups:

The last of the Super Rugby worm-up games were played and now it’s on to the real thing. FYI, the Sharks beat the Pumas, the Chiefs beat the Canes and the Blues beat the Clan.

Western Force Touring Squad:

The Force announced their touring squad for their trip to South Africa with the inclusion of four Wallabies back from injury, captain Matt Hodgson, winger Nick Cummins, prop Salesi Ma’afu and flanker/lock Hugh McMeniman.

Chris Alcock, Richard Brown, Nathan Charles, Sam Christie, Angus Cottrell, Pek Cowan, Nick Cummins, Patrick Dellit, Sias Ebersohn, Tetera Faulkner, Kyle Godwin, Jayden Hayward, Matt Hodgson, Kieran Longbottom, Toby Lynn, Salesi Ma’afu, Alfie Mafi, Alby Mathewson, Ben McCalman, Hugh McMeniman, Junior Rasolea, Mick Snowden, Winston Stanley, Heath Tessmann, Will Tupou, Sam Wykes.

Stormers Injuries:

Apart from Eben Etzebeth, Tiaan Liebenberg, Scarra Ntubeni and Schalk Burger it looks like Juan de Jongh will also miss the opening Super Rugby fixture next weekend against the Bulls, although there is hope that Burger may be ready.

Cell C Community Cup Kicks Off:

The club championships for non-varsity clubs kicked off on Saturday with wins by some of the big guns, College Rovers (KZN), Pretoria Police (Blue Bulls) and Rustenburg Impala (Leopards), but also wins by some of the wild cards, Raiders (Lions), African Bombers (EP) and Roses United (FS). A number of former junior and senior provincial players were on show including Tian Meyer (Pumas & Lions) and Wandile Mjekevu (Lions) for College Rovers and Naas Olivier (Griquas & Cheetahs) for Rustenburg Impala.


Vodacom Cup Warm-Ups: Griquas name a strong side:

A strong Griguas side, even stronger than the one that beat the Southern Kings, beat the SWD Eagles 54-17 in a Vodacom Cup warm-up match. The Griquas included a number of returning Cheetahs extended squad members in the run on side with only six players who started against the Kings starting against the Eagles.

15 PJ Vermeulen, 14 Luzuko Vulindlu, 13 Jean Stemmet, 12 Walter Venter, 11 Richard Lawson, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Jacques Coetzee, 8 Leon Karemaker, 7 Justin Downey, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Jaco Nepgen, 4 Ligtoring Landman, 3 Eugene Butterworth, 2 Ryno Barnes, 1 Janro van Niekerk.

Replacements: 16 Matt Dobson, 17 Simon Westraadt, 18 Steph Roberts, 19 Brummer Badenhorst, 20 Edwin Hewitt, 21 Joubert Horn, 22 Deon Carney, 23 Enrico Acker, 24 Marnus Hugo, 25 Burton Francis, 26 Rocco Jansen.

Pre-season indications are that the Blue Bulls and Griquas will be the main contenders for the 2013 Vodacom Cup

Profile photo of Baylion

by Baylion

Cell C Community Cup Competition Commenced

February 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

The Community Cup competition, South Africa’s new club championships that pit the unions’ top non-university clubs against each other started on Saturday when 2012 National Club Champions College Rovers took on the Eastern Province club, Despatch.

The clubs play home and away games round robin matches in four pools with the top two clubs in each pool going through to the knockout stages over Easter. The winner of the Community Cup will take on the the Varsity Cup champions for the title of National Club Champions


Villagers Worcester (Boland) 24 – 20 Sishen (Griquas)
Pretoria Police (Blue Bulls) 35 – 26 Durbanville-Bellville (WP)
African Bombers (EP) 35 – 22 Welkom Rovers (Griffons)
Rustenburg Impala (Leopards) 24 – 13 Roodepoort (Lions)
BB Truck Noordelikes (Limpopo) 12 – 45 Raiders (Lions)
Broubart Old Selbornians (Border) 8 – 15 Brakpan (Valke)
Roses United (Boland) 65 – 36 White River (Mpumalanga)
Jonsson College Rovers (KZN) 38 – 17 GAP Despatch (EP)



Pool A

Jonsson College Rovers (KZN) 1 1 5
Villagers Worcester (Boland) 1 1 4
Sishen (Griquas) 1 0 1
SK Walmers (WP) 0 0 0
GAP Despatch (EP) 1 0 0


Pool B

Pretoria Police (Blue Bulls) 1 1 5
African Bombers (EP) 1 1 4
Durbanville-Bellville (WP) 1 0 1
Bloemfontein Police (Free State) 0 0 0
Welkom Rovers (Griffons) 1 0 0


Pool C

Raiders (Lions) 1 1 4
Rustenburg Impala (Leopards) 1 1 4
Bloemfontein Crusaders (Free State) 0 0 0
Roodepoort (Lions) 1 0 0
BB Truck Noordelikes (Limpopo) 1 0 0


Pool D

Roses United (Boland) 1 1 5
Brakpan (Valke) 1 1 4
Broubart Old Selbornians (Border) 1 0 1
White River (Mpumalanga) 1 0 1
Evergreens (SWD) 0 0 0
Profile photo of Baylion

by Baylion

Community Cup 2013 – Changing the face of SA rugby

November 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

South African rugby takes another step forward when the inaugural Community Cup kick off in February. Following on the success of the Varsity Cup in recent years it was decided to revamp the limping National Club Championships and create a similar platform for non-Varsity clubs to display their talent.

This can only be a good thing for South African rugby. The Varsity Cup has become a great resource for the provincial unions and franchises to find new young talent but with the restrictions of the Varsity Cup regarding age and academic registration the Community Cup opens up the South African rugby player pool further. Not only do the club players get the opportunity to showcase their talent the Community Cup also provides the opportunity for university students to extend their career past the Varsity Cup.  A number of ex-Varsity Cup players, having reach the age limit, has already joined other clubs in order to continue their playing careers.

Unions not involved in Super Rugby normally struggle to attract good players as the franchise unions sign all the top young talent.  The Community Cup, like the Varsity Cup, will provide a launch pad for a whole new group of players, the amateurs and semi-professionals that currently ply their trade under the radar at clubs.

As the Community Cup is basically limited to the top team of each union other clubs will also be pushed to up their player recruitment if they wish to contest for that top spot in future years.

Current National Club Champions, College Rovers, will kick off the competition on 16 February 2013 and with the final being played on Easter Monday. The winner will then take on the Varsity Cup Champion to determine the overall national club champion

Pool A
College Rovers (KZN)
Despatch (EP Kings)
Worcester Villagers (Boland)
Sishen (Griquas)
SK Walmers (WP) Wildcard

Pool B
Pretoria Police (Blue Bulls)
Durbell (WP)
Bloemfontein Police (Free State)
Welkom Rovers (Griffons)
African Bombers (EP Kings) Wildcard

Pool C
Impala (Leopards)
Roodepoort (Golden Lions)
Noordelikes (Blue Bulls Limpopo)
Raiders (Golden Lions) Wildcard
Bloemfontein Crusaders (Free State) Wildcard

Pool D
Old Selbornians (Border)
Brakpan (Valke)
Witrivier (Pumas)
Evergreens (SWD)
Roses United Wellington (Boland) Wildcard