Profile photo of Baylion


The Students Star Tonight

February 4, 2013 in Uncategorized

The 2013 Varsity Cup kicks off on tonight with the four potential semi-finalists squaring off against each other when Maties hosts UJ and Pukke hosts 2012 Champions Tuks. In the other matches Ikeys hosts NMMU and newcomer Wits hosts Shimlas.

One of the features of Varsity rugby is the high turnover of players from year to year due to age, provincial call-ups and academic performance and this year we should, once again, see a number of new faces. The Varsity Cup has produced seven Springboks so far as well as a host of Super Rugby players and a number of these students will hope for higher honours in years to come.

This year there is also an added incentive for the teams as the winner of the Varsity Cup will play the winner of the Community Cup (non-Varsity clubs) for the title of National Club Champions.

Last year’s champions, Tuks, will look to defend their title and will, once again, serve as the parking garage for the youngsters the Blue Bulls recruit and will feature a number of the potential Blue Bulls.

After being trophyless for two years three time champions, Maties, will want to get the trophy back and should be one of the main contenders for the title once again.

Joburg big guns, UJ, have come close in the past and would hope that their new squad can pull it off this year face while newcomers, Wits, will want to make a solid start to their first year in the Varsity Cup.

Both Shimlas and Ikey Tigers will hope for a better season than last year when they struggled with inexperienced squads while NMMU will want to build on their improved showing last year while Pukke looks to make this the year they pull off the big one.

16:50 – FNB Maties vs FNB UJ : Danie Craven Stadium

Maties: Ryan Nell; Clearance Khumalo, Mark Hodgskiss, Louis Jordaan, JP Lewis; JH Potgieter, James Alexander; Reuben Johannes, Jurg Streicher, Helmut Lehmann (c), Reniel Hugo, Wilhelm van der Sluys, Brendan Pitzer, Neethling Gericke, Alistair Vermaak.
Reserves: Charl de Villiers, Niel Oelofse, Jan de Klerk, Lungelo Chonco, Jean Nel, Dean Grant, Craig Barry, Boeta Kleinhans.

UJ: Kobus de Kock, Tommie Damba, Bradley Moolman, Divan van Zyl, Chrysander Botha; Guy Cronje, Jacques Pretorius; RJ Liebenberg, Justin Wheeler (c), Stephan de Wit, David Antonites, Shane Kirkwood, Kop van der Westhuizen, AJ le Roux, Wiseman Kamanga.
Reserwes: Malcolm Marx, Njabulo Mkhize, Fabian Booysen, Kobus Porter, Lucas van Zyl, Luan Steenkamp, Lincoln Koopman, Wessel Durand.

19:00 – FNB NWU-Pukke vs FNB UP-Tuks : Fanie du Toit Sports Grounds

NWU-Pukke: Hoffman Maritz; Rowayne Beukman, Hennie Skorbinski, Johan Deysel, Luther Obi; Gerhard Nortier, Tiaan Dorfling; SJ Niemand, Ernie Strydom, Robey Labuschagne, Strand Kruger (c), MB Lusaseni, Martin Dreyer, JC Oberholzer, Pens Scharneck.
Reserves: Marius Fourie, Herman Basson, Solly Sotsaka, Molotsi Bouwer, Pieter Smith, Sylvian Mahuza, Wynand Olivier, Arno Ebersohn.

UP-Tuks: Riaan Britz; Vainon Willis, William Small-Smith, Burger Odendaal, Courtnall Skosan; Willie du Plessis, Danie Faasen; Jono Ross (c), Mike Williams, Shaun Adendorff, Marvin Orie, JP Mostert, Hencus van Wyk, Jaco Visagie, Sabelo Nhlapo.
Reserves: Sidney Tobias, Christoph Gouws, Schalk van Heerden, Nardus van der Walt, Emile Temperman, Tian Schoeman, Christopher Bosch, Andrew Beerwinkel.

19:00 – FNB UCT vs FNB NMMU : UCT Rugby Fields

UCT: Lihleli Xoli; Richard Stewart, Tiger Bax, David Ambunya, Paul Cohen; Ross Jones-Davies, Liam Slatem; Josh Katzen, Derek Asbun, Kyle Kriel, Levi Odendaal (c), James Kilroe, Shane Meier, Neil Rautenbach, Sti Sithole.
Reserves: Dayne Jans, Digby Webb, Jason Klaasens, Darryl Ndjadila, Rick Schroeder, Nicolas Loizedes, Justin Coles, Oliver Kebble.

NMMU: Jarryd Buys; Beast Ndwandwa, Lonwabo Ntleki, 12 Howard Mnisi, Mthangala Skosana; Justin van Staden, Dwayne Kelly; Timothy Agaba Tevk, Marius Oosthuizen, Simphiwe Shabangu, Louis Fourie, Mzwanele Zito, Dexter Fahey, Albertus de Swardt, Roy Godfrey (c).
Reserves: Ulrich Pretorius, Brendan Olivier, Schalk Oelofse, Stefan Willemse, Lesley-Dean Luiter, Gerrit Smith, Logan Basson, Elrich Kock.

19:00 – FNB Wits vs FNB Shimlas : Wits Rugby Stadium

Wits: Bronson Lange; Jacques Erasmus, Kayde Fisher, Jared Meyer, Riaan Arends; Latiume Fosita, Brent Crossley; Jason Fraser, Carel Greef, Thato Mavundla, Rinus Bothma, Devin Montgomery (c), Phakamilu Zuma, Piers Cooper, Hannes Ludick.
Reserves: Rory Anderson, Luvuyo Pumpuma, Shai Korb, Charles Baggot, Mathew Torrance, Greg Blom, Nkuli Gamede, Katlego Kgama.

UFS-Shimlas: Marco Mason; Maphutha Dolo, Robbie Van Schalkwyk, Reinhardt Erwee, JJ de Klerk; Francois du Toit, Kevin Luiters; Niell Jordaan, Freddie Ngoza, Tyron Schultz, JC Astle, Teboho Mohoje (c), Nick Schonert, Wickus Deysel, Schalk Van Der Merwe.
Reserves: Jacques du Toit, Charles Marais, Fanie Van Der Walt, Erik Le Roux, Hlanlha Hlongwane, Pieter-Steyn De Wet, Divandré Strydom, Carl van Heerden.

1 response to The Students Star Tonight

  1. Maties 29 – 8 UJ
    Ikeys 5 – 5 NMMU
    Pukke 26 – 23 Tuks
    Wits 7 – 61 Shimlas

Add Comment Register

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>