SuperRugby: Australian Teams for 2013



In 2012 the Brumbies finished 2nd on the Australian Conference. Missing out on a play-off spot thanks to the Reds who won more games during the round robin stages.

In 2011 the Brumbies experienced their worst year finishing 13th but under the guidance of Jake White they managed to become a force to be reckoned with in 2012 and will be one of the favorites to reach the 2013 play-offs.

FORWARDS: Ben Alexander, Ruaidhri Murphy, Dan Palmer, Scott Sio, Stephen Moore, Siliva Siliva, Sam Carter, Scott Fardy, Etienne Oosthuizen, Leon Power, Fotu Auelua, Colby Fainga’a, Peter Kimlin, David Pocock, Ben Mowen, Ita Vaea.

BACKS: Ian Prior, Nic White, Zack Holmes, Christian Lealiifano, Matt Toomua, Tevita Kuridrani, Pat McCabe, Andrew Smith, Tom Cox, Clyde Rathbone, Henry Speight, Joseph Tomane, Robbie Coleman, Jesse Mogg.

Player Movements 2013

Jerry Yanuyanutawa (to London Irish),
Anthony Hegarty (to Grenoble)
Ben Hand (to Grenoble)
Michael Hooper (to Waratahs)
Kimami Sitauti (to Rebels)
Cam Crawford (to Waratahs)

Etienne Oosthuizen (from Lions)
David Pocock (from Force)
Clyde Rathbone (unattached)


The Force is one of the struggling Australians sides who have yet to make a name for them in the SuperRugby competition.

In 2012 they finished dead last on the Australian Conference and 2nd last on the overall table.

Coach Michael Foley will face another tough season in the fight to be competitive in 2013 especially with the big exodus of players leaving the franchise with Nathan Sharpe (retiring) and David Pocock (going to Brumbies) being the two players who will be missed most.

FORWARDS:Pekahou Cowan, Tetera Faulkner, Kieran Longbottom, Salesi Ma’afu, Nathan Charles, Ben Whittaker, Phoenix Battye, Toby Lynn, Sam Wykes, Chris Alcock, Richard Brown, Angus Cottrell, Matt Hodgson, Hugh McMeniman, Lachlan McCaffrey, Ben McCalman.

BACKS:Alby Mathewson, Brett Sheehan, Sias Ebersohn, Kyle Godwin, Patrick Dellit, Jayden Hayward, Junior Rasolea, Winston Stanley, Chris Tuatara-Morrison,Will Tupou,Nick Cummins, Alfie Mafi, Ed Stubbs, Sam Norton-Knight.

Player Movements 2013


Ruan Smith (to Brumbies)
Salesi Manu (remain in Force EPS)
Elvis Taione (released)
Oliver Atkins (to Waratahs)
Nathan Sharpe (retired)
Anare Koliavu (released)
David Pocock (to Brumbies)
Josh Holmes (released)
Justin Turner (released)
Ben Seymour (released)
James Stannard (to Toyota Shokki)
Gene Fairbanks (to Kintetsu Liners)
Rory Sidey (to Rebels)
Napolioni Nalaga (to Clermont)
Jordan Rapana (released)
Samu Wara (released)
David Harvey (released)
Cameron Shepherd (to Sale Sharks)

Chris Alcock (from Waratahs)
Hugh McMeniman (from Kubota Spears)
Alby Mathewson (from Blues)
Sias Ebersohn (from Cheetahs)
Jayden Hayward (from Hurricanes)
Junior Rasolea (from Australia Sevens)
Chris Tuatara-Morrison (from Northern Suburbs)
Ed Stubbs (from Australia Sevens)
Sam Norton-Knight (from Panasonic Wild Knights)



After only 2 years in the SuperRugby competition the Rebels is still trying to find their feet. After finishing dead last in 2011 the Rebels managed to finish 13th in 2012 and will be hopefull to even better their rankings come 2013.

FORWARDS:Eddie Aholelei, Paul Alo-Emile, Nic Henderson, Laurie Weeks, Shota Horie, Ged Robinson, Luke Jones, James King, Cadeyrn Neville, Hugh Pyle, Chris Thomson, Tim Davidson,
Scott Fuglistaller, Scott Higginbotham, Jarrod Saffy, Gareth Delve.

BACKS: Richard Kingi, Nick Phipps, Nic Stirzaker, Mitch Inman, Lachlan Mitchell, James O’Connor, Rory Sidey, Kimami Sitauti, Cooper Vuna, Kurtley Beale, Angus Roberts, Alex Rokobaro, Jason Woodward.

Player Movements 2013

Rodney Blake (released)
Jono Owen (to Reds)
Adam Freier (retired)
Luke Holmes (to Waratahs)
Heath Tessmann (released)
Adam Byrnes (released)
Alister Campbell (retired)
Tom Chamberlain (released)
Michael Lipman (retired)
Ryan Hodson (returned to Cottesloe)
Danny Cipriani (to Sale Sharks)
James Hilgendorf (released)
Lloyd Johansson (released)
Stirling Mortlock (retired)
Mark Gerrard (to Toyota Shokki)
Julian Huxley (to Narbonne)

Shota Horie (from Panasonic Wild Knights)
Chris Thomson (from Narbonne)
Scott Fuglistaller (from Highlanders)
Scott Higginbotham (from Reds)
Rory Sidey (from Force)
Kimami Sitauti (from Brumbies)
Angus Roberts (from Sydney University)
Alex Rokobaro (from Stade Fran├žais)
Jason Woodward (from Wellington Lions)


The Reds is one of the more successful franchises in the SuperRugby series winning the championship on 3 occasions.

In 2012 the Reds scraped through to reach the semi-finals by winning 1 more game than the Brumbies to take the top spot on the Australian Conference table.

: Ben Daley, Greg Holmes, Jono Owen, James Slipper, Albert Anae, Saia Fainga’a, James Hanson, James Horwill, David McDuling, Rob Simmons, Adam Wallace-Harrison, Liam Gill, Eddie Quirk, Beau Robinson, Jake Schatz, Radike Samo.

BACKS: Nick Frisby, Will Genia, Quade Cooper, Ben Lucas, Anthony Fainga’a, Michael Harris, Jono Lance, Ben Tapuai, Aidan Toua, Chris Feauai-Sautia, Digby Ioane, Dom Shipperley,Rod Davies, Luke Morahan.

Player Movements 2013

Guy Shepherdson (released)
Blake Enever (returned to Easts Tigers)
Van Humphries (released)
Jarrad Butler (returned to Easts Tigers)
Scott Higginbotham (to Rebels)
Sam Lane (to Waratahs)
Dallan Murphy (to Aix)
Joelin Rapana (released)
Nathan Eyres-Brown (released)
Peter Hynes (released)

Jono Owen (from Rebels)



FORWARDS: Sekope Kepu, Benn Robinson, Paddy Ryan, Jeremy Tilse, Damien Fitzpatrick, Tatafu Polota-Nau, John Ulugia, Oliver Atkins, Kane Douglas, Greg Peterson, Lopeti Timani, Sitaleki Timani, Dave Dennis, Michael Hooper, Pat McCutcheon, Wycliff Palu.

BACKS: Grayson Hart, Brendan McKibbin, Berrick Barnes, Tom Carter, Israel Folau, Michael Hodge, Rob Horne, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Peter Betham, Tom Kingston, Drew Mitchell, Lachlan Turner, Cam Crawford, Bernard Foley.

Player Movements 2013

Joshua Mann-Rea (to Brumbies)
Dean Mumm (to Exeter Chiefs)
Dan Vickerman (retired)
Chris Alcock (to Force)
Rocky Elsom (released)
Jono Jenkins (toNarbonne)
Tevita Metuisela (released)
Richard Stanford (released)
Sarel Pretorius (to Cheetahs)
Daniel Halangahu (to Zebre)
Brackin Karauria-Henry (to NTT Shining Arcs)
Atieli Pakalani (released)
Nathan Trist (released)

Oliver Atkins (from Force)
Michael Hooper (from Brumbies)
Israel Folau (from GWS)
Michael Hodge (from Sydney University)
Peter Betham (from Sydney University)
Cam Crawford (from Brumbies)






Add Comment Register

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>